Information about your contacts is stored in project fields, and can be seen in contact profiles.

You can edit the fields of the project to reflect your needs by adding, editing or deleting fields.

How To

Add a field to the project

Adding a field to a project allows you to add this field to the contact's profile and collect additional information about contacts.

Two options are possible:

  • add an all new field, to be configured from scratch, and
  • add a pre-configured field, to be used as is and edited if needed.

Notes: Note that when adding a new field to an existing project, contacts that are already included in the database will not have a value for the new field, unless it is entered individually in the source file or manually in the application. Also note that any new field added to a project already online cannot be defined as required, nor be part of the primary key.  

  1. Open the list of fields using one of the following methods:

    • > Configuration > Project
    • > > Project fields
  2. In the project edit page, which lists all the fields included in the project, go to the section where you want to add a field and click on Add a field.

  3. In the New field window, you have two different ways to add a field: 
    • Add a predefined field
      1. Open the Library tab to see the default pre-configured fields. Checked fields are already in your project.
      2.  Select the fields you want to add.
        **This window only lets you add fields, and not delete them by unchecking the checkbox. Field deletion is done from the project's list of fields. If needed, see How to delete a Field from a Project.
      3. Click Add.


    • Add a custom field to be configured from scratch
      1. Open the Custom tab.
      2.  In the Field section, define the field.
      3. In the Input format section, specify how data must be entered in this field.
      4. Click Add to return to the list of fields, or Add and new to define a new custom field.


See the Description of all the values that can be configured for custom fields.


Edit a field

You might want to edit a project field to change its name (label), its description, its default value (under certain conditions), its visibility or its input format.

If the current project is in progress and not already online, all field information can be modified. However, if the project is online, only some field can be changed. To be able to modify a field in a project that is online, you must first delete the data from the database and rebuild the project again; for that reason, this function in online projects is not very common and must be used with caution.

  1. Open the list of fields using one of the following methods:

    • > Configuration > Project
    • > > Project fields
  2. In the page listing all the project fields, select the field to change and click Edit.
  3. In the Edit window, make the necessary changes.

  4. Once all changes are done, click Save.        

      
    Field
    Applicable restrictions when project is online
    Primary key
    When a field has been defined as part of the primary key (flagged with  or ), this information CANNOT be modified once the project is online. Furthermore, it is not possible to add a primary key once the project is online.
    Code
    The code CAN NEVER be changed, whatever the status of the project.
    Label
    The label CAN be modified anytime.
    Description
    The description CAN be modified anytime.
    Format
    The format of a field CAN NEVER be modified.
    Required
    When a field has been defined as not required, it CAN only be changed afterwards if all contacts have a valid value in the field.
    Length
    For a fixed length field, the length of the field CANNOT be reduced; it can however be increased so that any value entered will still be valid.
    Default
    The default value CAN be changed.
    Visibility
    The field visibility in the search criteria CAN be modified anytime.
    Input format
    All values related to the field input format CAN be changed anytime. Depending on the new format selected, you might have to define additional values.
    For more information, view the full description of fields and input formats.

Delete a field from the project

Deleting a field from the project removes that field from the contact's profile, as well as the related data in the database.

  1. Open the list of fields using one of the following methods:

    • > Configuration > Project
    • > > Project fields
  2. In the list of fields, locate the one to delete and click on the deletion icon  next to it.
    Note that if the deletion icon is greyed, this means that the field cannot be deleted.
    Here are field deletion restrictions:
    Fields that CANNOT be deleted when the project is IN PREPARATION

    Fields that CANNOT be deleted when the project is ONLINE
    • The following fields CAN NEVER be deleted, whatever the status of the project or the field is:
      • EMail
      • FirstName
      • LastName

    • The following fields CAN NEVER be deleted, whatever the status of the project or the field is:
      • EMail
      • FirstName
      • LastName

    • A field that has been defined as part of the primary key, flagged with .

    • A field that has been defined as required, flagged with .