This task lets you define the default behaviors to adopt in various situations, in particular when a contact decides to unsubscribe from a publication or reports a publication as spam.

 Prerequisite
  • Your project must NOT HAVE a consent center.
    Defining how to manage contacts who unsubscribe or report spam is not done here when a consent center has been enabled.
    For more info, see How to create a consent center.
  • Have the rights to edit these parameters.
    If the link to edit or delete is grayed out, it means you do not have the permission to perform this task.
Access Path
> Configuration >  Communication types

How To

  1. In the list of communication types, select the one you wish to edit.
  2. Scroll to the Opt-outs section.


  3. Click the Edit link next to the behavior to edit.
    • On opt-out - when a contact puts an end to a subscription
    • On spam complaint - when a contact reports a message as spam
      ** If you have enabled the opt-in management feature, the opt-out behavior will be managed by the consent centre, and not here.
  4. For each behavior, indicate how you want it to be processed. How should the contact's status be affected? Should the contact be added to a kill file, or to an unsubscribe list?

    Possible options are:


    Behavior
    Deactivate Deactivate --> The status of the contact changes from Active to Inactive. An inactive contact will not receive ANY communication associated with the current project. If the project includes multiple types of communications and a contact wishes to continue receiving some communication types, you will need to define each communication type separately so that the contact is not deactivated from all communications.
    Add to kill file Add --> The status of the contact remains Active but the contact is put on the "blacklist" of ALL projects in the current company.
    To remove a contact from the blacklist, use the related button in the contact's profile.
    Add to kill file of children compangies Add --> The status of the contact remains Active but the contact is put on the "blacklist" of ALL projects in all the sub-company of the current company. To remove a contact from the blacklist, use the related button in the contact's profile.
    Opt-out lists If you want the contact to be added to any of the opt-out list, just select it and click Add. This type of list can be useful to group multiple kill files together under one single list, which occurs when a parent company has many affiliated companies.
    Data update This section is used to enter a specific value in an existing field of the project when an unsubscribe or spam complaint occurs. For example, you might want the field Subscriber to be have the value No.

    Filter sendings with the following lists
    This option lets you specify which opt-out list to use to exclude contacts from mailings. If you want to use this option, just select the desired opt-out list and click Add.
  5. Once you have set all parameters, click Save.