Configuring communication types lets you specify the communications that are valid in the project and define each of these types. You can create, edit and delete communication types, as well as define the related display settings, behaviors upon opt-out or complaint and list of items to check before mailing; you can also choose the option to send a notification to certain users when a note is added to a message.

Communication types allow you to classify messages but mostly to define specific parameters that apply to each type.

For example, you could want to keep contacts active even if they unsubscribe from a promotional message. In that case, you would set the parameters of this communication type as such.

When creating a new project, there is one communication type already created, that is Newsletter. But you can create as many communication types as you need. You can also delete communication types you don't need anymore. However, if there is only one communication type in the project, you will not be able to delete it, even if this type show a link Delete this type.

 

Access Path  > Configuration > Communication types

 How To

To configure a communication type, you must first select the type to define by selecting amongst those offered. If needed, you can add a completely new type or even delete existing ones. However, it is mandatory to keep at least one communication type.

Create the communication type

If you want to define a completely new communication type:

  1. Once the page listing all the communication types is displayed, scroll to the bottom of the page to click on Add a communication type.
  2. In the pop-up that displays, type in a name for the communication type and click on Add. The new communication type will be listed by alphabetical order with the existing ones.

Define the communication type

Whether you just created a new communication type, or wish to edit an existing one, you must first select the communication type to define in the left pane.

Once selected, there are multiple options to define:

Define display options
  1. If needed, edit the name of the communication type.
  2. Check the Show messages of this type for sendings from the contact's profile option if you want to be able to send messages of this type directly from the contact information card.
  3. Note that options related to the icon or color of the communication type is not available for now.
  4. Click on Save to register your changes.
Define how to handle contacts in the event of an opt-out or complaint

The Opt-outs section lets you configure how the application processes contacts when a contact unsubscribes from this type of communication or when a contact reports a message of this type as spam.

By default, the application deactivates a contact upon opt-out. When a complaint is expressed, the contact is by defaut deactivated and added to the kill file.

To change the default behavior, proceed as follows:

  1. In the Opt-outs section, click on the Modify link next to the behavior to change.
    The Opt-out list behaviors page displays.
  2. For each of the available option, select the desired value from the drop-down list.

Note that settings defined at the communication type level have priority on those defined at the project level. However, if no specific option is defined at the communication type level or if the selected value is As defined by the project, the settings defined at the project level will apply.

Possible values
Value or FieldDescription
As defined by the projectThis value is available for all fields and shows the corresponding value in the project between parenthesis.
When this value is selected, it means that the same value as the one set for the project will apply. See Creating a Project.
  • Deactivate
  • Do not deactivate
This value indicates whether the contact will be deactivated or not upon opt-out or complaint related to this type of communication.
  • Add
  • Do not add
This value indicates whether the contact is to be added to the list upon opt-out or complaint related to this type of communication. There are three possible lists:
  • Add to kill file - In this case, all projects in the current company will prevent messages of this type to be sent out to contacts.
  • Add to master company kill file - In this case, all projects in the parent company will prevent messages of this type to be sent out to contacts.
    * Adding a contact to the kill file of the master company does not add this contact to the kill file of underlying companies. Therefore, if a master company has multiple child companies, the contact will need to be added to the master company as well as to each underlying company;
  • Opt-out lists - If you want contacts to be added to a specific opt-out list(s), you will need to select the desired list(s) in the Include in the lists drop-down list and add them.
  • Data update
  • No data update
This value lets you specify if you want the contact information card to be updated when there is an opt-out or spam complaint. For example, if the contact card includes fields related to subscriptions, you might want the related subscription to be unchecked instead of deactivating the contact; this way, the contact continue to receive other communication types. If you choose to update data on the information card, you need to specify the applicable conditions and which fields are to be updated and what value to apply.
Filter sendings with the following listsOption that lets you exclude listed contacts from mailings in the current project; these contacts can be included in a given opt-out list, often set at the master company level, or included on multiples lists if needed. Using an opt-out list is different than using a kill file (or black list), as when the opt-out list is created at the master company level, it also applies to all underlying companies -- which is not the case for a kill file created at the master company level.
  1. Once all behaviors defined, click on Save.
  2. To return to the summary page of behaviors, click on Communication types.
Define check points to validate before sending a message

Defining a check list lets you remind users of the various points to be checked before sending a message. When such a list is created, it displays each time a message of the defined type is ready to be sent.

The default validation points are as follows:

  • That you have the permission to communication with the selected contacts.
  • That the message provide an easy and functional way to unsubscribe.
  • That you are well identified so that the recipient can contact you.

  1. Under the Check list section, click on Modify.
  2. In the Check list page, type the desired instructions or points to be checked by the user before sending the message. If the project is available in other languages, you can define these check points in all other available languages.
Send a notification when new revision notes are added
  1. Under the Notifications section, check the related option.
  2. Also check the users to whom you want to send notifications to.

Configure ou modify an email alert

Configuring an email alert when the delivery error rate reaches a certain percentage allows you to act in advance to prevent delivery errors (see Understanding bounces and delivery errors).

It is possible to configure an alert for each type of communication.

  1. In the Email alert section, click on modify.
  2. In the window that opens, enter the minimum number of contacts and the delivery error rate.
    * Make sure to enter an appropriate error rate. For example, if you configure an alert for sendings with more than 100 contacts, with a 1% error rate, you will receive an alert after only 1 error.
  3. Then click on Add to choose the user(s) who will receive the alert.
  4. When you are finished, click on the Save button.

Delete a communication type

Deleting a communication type lets you eliminate communication types that are no longer used or valid and consequently, limit the list of valid types.

It is possible to delete any communication type, as long as there is at least one left in the project.

If you attempt to delete a communication type that is associated to existing messages, you will be asked to transfer the related messages to another type of communication, as all messages must be assigned to a communication type.

  1. Once in the page listing all communication types, select the one that you want to delete and click on Delete this type.
  2. If the communication type is associated to existing messages, select the communication type to which to transfer the related messages and then click on Transfer. Otherwise, you just need to confirm the deletion by clicking on Delete.

Next step

If you have a consent center, set in which conditions the communication type can be sent (see Setting the Sending Conditions of a Communication Type).