Enabling, disabling and deleting contacts keeps an up-to-date and efficient database for the use of the data collected. There are, however, important differences between the three actions.
- Activating a contact makes it eligible for targeting by a mailing or campaign (by default a contact is activated upon creation).
- Disable allows you to exclude the contact from all future communications keeping the contact information intact.
- Delete erases the contact from the entire database including sending and subscription history and relational data for that customer. Clearing a contact's history may create some inaccuracies in message results.
Note : In order to honor contact subscriptions and unsubscriptions, it is always better to deactivate an unsubscribed contact instead of deleting it.
|Access Path||> Viewing a Contact's Profile|
In the contact card, the buttons will be found at the top of the workspace with the other actions on the contact. When the contact is disabled, the green brackets will change to red x's and the Enable button will appear instead of Disable.
Deleting multiple contacts at once is done through a group. As this is a definitive procedure, the deletion request includes a validation of the chosen contacts as well as a deletion confirmation.
Note : The function should be used to erase SOME of the contacts and NOT ALL. If you want to delete all contacts from your project, go through the project edit page, deleting the list of contacts. See Deleting a project.
Once the request is confirmed, Dialog Insight will erase the contacts and all associated data and history gradually. The processing time depends on the number of contacts to be erased, so the more contacts, the longer the processing will take.
|Access Path||> Contacts > Groups|
- Go to the Delete contacts page by tab on the list or icon in editing a group targeting contacts.
- In the list of available groups, select the group or groups whose contacts and associated data you want to permanently erase by double-clicking on the name and clicking Continue. If one of the selected groups is in error or if the selected groups do not contain any contacts, it will not be possible to continue.
- In the Validation section, the information of the targeted contacts will appear. Check that the contacts displayed are the ones to be deleted and select Delete.
- As this is a permanent procedure, a warning window informs of the consequences of the deletion and asks to confirm again.
- Once this second confirmation has been made, the deletion request will be submitted and the deletion will then be processed. The duration of erasing contacts and associated data will be gradual and could take several hours, depending on the number of contacts to be erased.