In the Dialog Insight application, a "contact" refers to any person that has a record in a project database (its contact list).

Each project can only have one contact list. However, it is possible to create, for one project, multiple groups to divide the contact list.

There are several types of contacts, which correspond to contact states: active, inactive and in quarantine. Contacts can change their status during sending, depending opt-outs from contacts or replies from destination servers.

Information gathered on a contact depend on the project fields and the data in the associated relational tables.

Contact statusDescription
Inactive contact
or
A contact is inactive when the related email address or phone number has been deactivated in any of the following methods:
  • The contact has unsubscribed by clicking on the opt-out link in a message.
  • The contact has been deactivated manually by an Dialog Insight user.
  • The contact has been deactivated by a replacement import, which deactivates any contact that does not show in the file to import.
  • The contact has been deactivated following a spam complaint or a request via Web service (API) or profile update form.
No messages can be sent from the application to an inactive contact.

Active contact
or
A contact is active when the related email address or phone number is valid and exists and when the contact has not been deactivated (by an opt-out in a message, manually or by a replacement import).
Messages can be sent to an active contact.
Contact in quarantine

A contact is placed into quarantine when the related email address or phone number is reported as non existent by the destination server, based on responses provided directly to the email account providers.
Invalid contact
A contact is invalid when the related email address does not respect the correct syntax. It is possible to see the list of all invalid contacts via Contact > Results > Errors > Invalid Contacts tab. No messages can be sent to an invalid contact as the related address is not valid.
Black listed contact
A contact is placed on the black list when one of the following event occurs:
  • The contact has reported the message as Spam or Junk.
  • Upon the client's request, the contact was manually put on the black list.
No messages, from all the project for that client, can be sent to a contact placed on the black list.